6 months, 2 jobs and 1 new goal…

Since arriving in Georgia, it’s been quite busy. One thing that the moving manuals and training do not prepare you for is the initial adjustment period. Granted, there are some great resources available to you as soon as you are ready to get it and leave from out of  under the boxes and bubble wrap to venture on base.

One of these resources that I have discovered is COMPASS. This is an organization that has been around for many years, and it’s truly something all Navy spouses should know about. Really, the program can be categorized as a Spouse Readiness class for new and experiences spouses. The other goal of the program is to jump start your socialization in what may be a brand new place for you and your family.

As a result of various Google searches, I stumbled upon this program and promptly signed up for hte very next class. Well, that class was in July or August, and I was not even out there yet. The program leader called me and was so excited to have me out and meet up as soon as I got here. This is of course the first call I made! It really was so much better of an experience than I could have hoped for. We went to a really cute Tea Shop in the historic part of town. After a great lunch, she and I stayed in touch through another great resource of our time: Facebook.

Now what I have to say about Facebook could be another post in itself, but what I have gained from the initial search for connections our here are invaluable. In addition the COMPASS organization, I also managed to find several women in the area through searches on Facebook that turned out to be a wonderful addition to my transition as well. They also promptly got in touch through get togethers as soon as I arrived. This really was the turning point from the feelings of despair I was experiencing following our amazing road trip…They saved me from being another statistic navy wife, depressed, sad and alone, waiting for her husband to come home.

In addition to the friendships I was forming, I also landed what I thought would be a promising job. Turns out, the banking industry did not need me and I was not about to let that get me down either. Working at the bank as a customer service rep was not my ideal, nor was the 1.5 hour round trip or the low pay…but it got me out of the house, a little income and interaction on a daily basis. But in December, the CEO announced that there were going to be lay offs in January time frame. Both the agency I worked for and the bank seemed confident I was not going to be a part of that lay off, but that again was not the case.

As soon as I found out, I seemed to develop this thought of what was next and after several attempts to get even a response on a new job, it dawned on me that I was going to be in the “searching for a job” phase for the rest of my life at this rate. And frankly, I was sick of it! So, I made a drastic decision about two weeks before I was officially laid off – I was going to switch careers completely and becoming a nurse.

Yep – I committed to becoming a nurse, and all the schooling that it would entail. Yep – going BACK to school after I assumed I was done the first time. Not having the hindsight as an 18 year old high school graduate to realize that as soon as I left college, the second worst Depression…err..Recession was going to hit our country like a tow truck bringing us back to budgets and coupons, maybe I would have made the decision to be a nurse then. But not looking back, I am excited to get back to school – and get out in a timely fashion as well.

Since being laid off two weeks ago, I have started to volunteer as a Patient Care Member at a local hospital, applied to a local college and oh yeah, we are building a new house!

Alot to look forward to, never looking back on the life we could have had in California. Those days are over. I really believe it’s a blessing to come back down off the conveyor belt that was life in good old SD. While fun and exciting, a small down in Southern Georgia, we still found some great people great things to do and a promising future career.

Leave a Reply

